Skip to main content
Pinecone Docs

Search documentation

Type to search this documentation.

On this pageOverview

Data deletion on Pinecone

Learn how Pinecone permanently deletes customer data, including soft deletion, the 90-day retention window, and secure erasure of records and indexes.

Pinecone follows a secure process to ensure that customer data is permanently deleted from our system. This page gives an overview of the process.

As defined in the Master Subscription Agreement, customer data is data that you provide to Pinecone through the services of the Pinecone system, or such data provided on your behalf by connected systems. This includes objects such as records, indexes, backups, projects, API keys, users, assistants, and organizations.

The deletion of customer data begins when you initiate a deletion request through the Pinecone API, console, or a connected service. A deletion request can delete a single resource, such as a record, or can delete a resource and all its dependent resources, such as an index and all its records.

Deletion of your customer data also occurs automatically when you end your relationship with Pinecone. If your account is deactivated for continued non-payment, account data is retained for 30 days before permanent deletion.

After you initiate a deletion request, Pinecone marks the data for deletion. The data isn't immediately removed from the system. Instead, Pinecone retains the data for a maximum of 90 days. During this period, the data isn't accessible to you or any other user.

Before the end of the 90-day retention window, Pinecone permanently deletes the data from its system. Once the data is permanently deleted, it's no longer recoverable.

Suggest an edit

Propose a replacement for this page. The site team reviews it before applying any changes.

Export
Documentation menu